How Writing A Blog Can Help Me Become A Better Developer

·

3 min read

Table of contents

Ok.

What does it mean to be better?

How do we improve? How can writing a blog make you better? These are the questions I ask myself as a developer when someone says "You should write a blog". So what is the answer? Well, in all my research much to my chagrin, I have found the answer. What makes someone better? They have a deeper understanding, they can explain things thoroughly and simply, they are more organized and can better articulate their thoughts. How do we improve? We practice, explore different avenues, itemize our capabilities and improve our weaknesses. I know, I know "That's all fine and dandy Kiefer, but how does that relate to a blog?". Well if you'll be patient enough to allow me to explain I will.

First.

When you start a blog it forces you, to organize your thoughts so they can be articulated clearly. This will help me understand complex concepts. Coding is complex there are some things that I need to understand that will take a lot more than a glance at the documentation and watching a 3-minute YouTube video. More important than understanding complex subjects for a coder is being able to explain those subjects to a coworker. Writing a blog will help me learn how to articulate things of greater complexity to anyone.

Second.

By writing about a particular topic, you have to deepen your understanding. You have to gain more knowledge to write about things in depth. A good programmer needs to be able to quickly adapt and learn, diving into a topic to write a blog post is a great way to exercise that muscle. Being able to dive deep into a complex subject will make me a better developer because it will force me to learn how to do a deep dive, and come out on the other side with more knowledge to articulate well. Instead of what currently happens which is I do a deep dive into a technical manual and I come out with a big ball of mud in my brain that I can't make heads-or-tails of.

Third.

On a more personal note. A blog is a great way to let the world see you for who you are. There's a chance no one will read it, but the few people who do will get an inkling of who you are as a person by the way you write. When I write about my values, new technologies, or things I am passionate about. I will essentially be building my brand, I will be showing the world what motivates me, and opening myself up to create more connections. I will be able to show people what I know, and also that I am willing to learn new things. I will be showing them things about me that might be similar to how they feel, or how they think and hopefully, I will spark at the very least an interesting conversation that leads to me being a better human with a deeper understanding of the world around me. As a developer one of the biggest muscles we need to be able to strengthen is our ability to empathize. To create solutions for the world that will benefit humans we need to be able to put ourselves in their shoes. Writing a blog will allow me to see the world from a lot of different perspectives as I discover new topics.

So.

Why will writing a blog make me a better developer? It might not. If I just use AI to fill the page, but if I work at it and give it my all. It will make me more knowledgeable, it will teach me how to study and explain complex concepts, and it will help me learn from other people and create more connections by showing the world who I am. Which, some people would argue is the whole point of being alive.